West Virginia minimum wage rate is $8.75 per hour in 2022. Workers receive a higher minimum wage in West Virginia that exceeds the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. The West Virginia minimum wage applies to most employees, with limited exceptions, including certain tipped employees, students or part-time workers, and other exempt occupations. The top 5 minimum wage states in the U.S. are District of Columbia, California, Washington, Massachusetts, and Connecticut.
The federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour and has not increased since 2009. Demand for a living wage that is fair to workers is rising. In response to this rising demand, numerous states, cities, and other localities have already enacted or will change minimum wage levels. In the few states with no established minimum wage, the current federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour will continue to apply.
Based on local legislation, many states have already enacted minimum wage increases or approved increases due for implementation at a future date.
These ever-changing laws, effective dates, and methodologies result in minimum wages that may change at different times or differ dramatically within a state or region. Minimum wage changes can be triggered for a location when these pre-determined conditions change and require careful monitoring to ensure compliance to the latest wage levels.
Salary.com continuously tracks all these complex changes. We can help to keep you informed about future changes and stay up to date on the latest minimum wage levels in your essential locations. Show me more data to view U.S. state minimum wages for future years.

Browse Minimum Wage by Year, and Forecast Minimum Wage Increase Trends in West Virginia

The minimum wages in some states are higher than the federal minimum wage in 2022, including District of Columbia, California, Washington, Massachusetts, and others. Many of the minimum wage increases were effective on January 01, 2018. Some states have effective dates occurring at different months of the year. Check the chart to stay up to date on the hourly minimum wage in West Virginia.
View upcoming minimum wage changes to be on top of future changes to the minimum wage in your location.

Hourly Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees in West Virginia

The tipped minimum wage is the lowest amount employers can pay an employee in occupations such as a bartender or server, that regularly receive more than $30 a month in tips. In some states, the tipped minimum wage may be lower than the non-tipped minimum wage because employers can claim a tip credit.
It is important to note that the tipped minimum wage can vary depending on where your business is and the size of the business. In some states, the tipped minimum wage is equal to the overall minimum wage for that state. In some locations, the federal tipped minimum wage applies. In other locations, the state-tipped minimum wage is set above the federal minimum. Tipped minimum wages may vary from state to state and can be frequently adjusted, making it essential to stay informed about the latest wage levels.
In West Virginia, the tipped minimum wage is the same as the state minimum wage. It may be subject to adjustment based on other criteria, such as the size of the business.
See tipped data learn more about tipped and non-tipped minimum wage in West Virginia.

West Virginia minimum wage in 2021: US$8.75 (effective December 31, 2015)

West Virginia minimum wage in 2020: US$8.75

West Virginia minimum wage in 2000: US$5.15 ($7.93 after inflation adjustment)

West Virginia minimum wage in 1980: US$2.20 ($7.37 after inflation adjustment)

People's Opinions on Minimum Wage in West Virginia

West Virginia minimum wage laws do not apply to employers with fewer than six (6) persons employed during a workweek in any one separate, distinct, and permanent location or business establishment.

09/24/2021

We have never actually experimented with that big of a jump in the minimum wage,” said Bryan McCannon, an associate professor of economics at West Virginia University.

09/03/2021

For the state minimum wage requirements to apply in West Virginia, there must be at least six (6) or more non-exempt employees working at the same separate, distinct, and permanent work location.

08/28/2021

The state minimum wage applies when an employer has six or more non-exempt employees working at any separate, distinct, and permanent work location in West Virginia.

08/26/2021

But in West Virginia, where the cost of living is drastically lower than the surrounding metro areas, a major change in the minimum wage could leave small business owners scrambling.

08/20/2021

West Virginia minimum wage laws exempt from it minimum wage requirements any individual employed on a part-time basis who is a student in any recognized school or college.

08/04/2021

In addition to any West Virginia-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers.

07/31/2021

West Virginia minimum wage laws do not specifically permit employers to pay student learners a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.

07/25/2021

Any employer that has six non-exempt employees working at any one separate, distinct and permanent location in West Virginia must pay its employees an hourly rate of at least the state minimum wage.

07/19/2021

The minimum wage in West Virginia is calculated through the Consumer Price Index, which takes into account the cost of living, house pricing, and inflation within the state.

07/16/2021

Are you an HR manager or compensation specialist?

Salary.com's CompAnalyst platform offers:

  • Detailed skills and competency reports for specific positions
  • Job and employee pricing reports
  • Compensation data tools, salary structures, surveys and benchmarks.
Learn about CompAnalyst