Utah minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour in 2022. Workers receive a lower minimum wage in Utah that exceeds the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. The Utah minimum wage applies to most employees, with limited exceptions, including certain tipped employees, students or part-time workers, and other exempt occupations. The top 5 minimum wage states in the U.S. are District of Columbia, California, Washington, Massachusetts, and Connecticut.
The federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour and has not increased since 2009. Demand for a living wage that is fair to workers is rising. In response to this rising demand, numerous states, cities, and other localities have already enacted or will change minimum wage levels. In the few states with no established minimum wage, the current federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour will continue to apply.
Based on local legislation, many states have already enacted minimum wage increases or approved increases due for implementation at a future date.
These ever-changing laws, effective dates, and methodologies result in minimum wages that may change at different times or differ dramatically within a state or region. Minimum wage changes can be triggered for a location when these pre-determined conditions change and require careful monitoring to ensure compliance to the latest wage levels.
Salary.com continuously tracks all these complex changes. We can help to keep you informed about future changes and stay up to date on the latest minimum wage levels in your essential locations. Show me more data to view U.S. state minimum wages for future years.

Browse Minimum Wage by Year, and Forecast Minimum Wage Increase Trends in Utah

The minimum wages in some states are higher than the federal minimum wage in 2022, including District of Columbia, California, Washington, Massachusetts, and others. Many of the minimum wage increases were effective on January 01, 2018. Some states have effective dates occurring at different months of the year. Check the chart to stay up to date on the hourly minimum wage in Utah.
View upcoming minimum wage changes to be on top of future changes to the minimum wage in your location.

Hourly Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees in Utah

The tipped minimum wage is the lowest amount employers can pay an employee in occupations such as a bartender or server, that regularly receive more than $30 a month in tips. In some states, the tipped minimum wage may be lower than the non-tipped minimum wage because employers can claim a tip credit.
It is important to note that the tipped minimum wage can vary depending on where your business is and the size of the business. In some states, the tipped minimum wage is equal to the overall minimum wage for that state. In some locations, the federal tipped minimum wage applies. In other locations, the state-tipped minimum wage is set above the federal minimum. Tipped minimum wages may vary from state to state and can be frequently adjusted, making it essential to stay informed about the latest wage levels.
In Utah, the tipped minimum wage is the same as the state minimum wage. It may be subject to adjustment based on other criteria, such as the size of the business.
See tipped data learn more about tipped and non-tipped minimum wage in Utah.

Utah minimum wage in 2021: US$7.25

Utah minimum wage in 2020: US$7.25

Utah minimum wage in 2000: US$5.15 (US$7.93 after inflation adjustment)

Utah minimum wage in 1980: US$2.35-US$2.60

People's Opinions on Minimum Wage in Utah

Utah minimum wage laws authorizes the Utah Labor Commission to establish a wage rate for learners not to exceed the first 160 hours of employment that is less than the standard minimum wage.


Additionally, the effect of raising Utah’s minimum wage would likely not increase the state’s unemployment in any significant way but would increase the money put back into the economy.


Utah minimum wage laws allow employers to pay apprentices a subminimum wage that is less than the standard minimum wage, because Utah exempts registered apprentices from its minimum wage requirements.


Thus, because most employees in Utah are subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act, the provisions of Utah’s minimum wage law do not apply to most employee working in Utah.


Hemmert said Utah would eventually adapt to a minimum wage increase, but most likely it would be met with negative responses and small businesses in particular would struggle.


Restaurants, which fit within the leisure and hospitality industry, employ the largest number of minimum wage workers in Utah, followed by retail trade, and education and health services.


Gochnour says for the last two years, maybe further, various state legislators have tried to raise the minimum wage in Utah, but the measures didn’t receive much traction.


Though it failed, considering the pressure of wage increases across the country and the competition from Amazon, it’s possible a bill to raise the Utah minimum wage will be proposed again.


In addition to any Utah-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers.


Many people feel it is unrealistic to more than double the Utah minimum wage within 7 years, so it may be some time before workers in Utah see an increase in their pay.


Are you an HR manager or compensation specialist?

Salary.com's CompAnalyst platform offers:

  • Detailed skills and competency reports for specific positions
  • Job and employee pricing reports
  • Compensation data tools, salary structures, surveys and benchmarks.
Learn about CompAnalyst