Texas minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour in 2022. Workers receive a lower minimum wage in Texas that exceeds the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. The Texas minimum wage applies to most employees, with limited exceptions, including certain tipped employees, students or part-time workers, and other exempt occupations. The top 5 minimum wage states in the U.S. are District of Columbia, California, Washington, Massachusetts, and Connecticut.
The federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour and has not increased since 2009. Demand for a living wage that is fair to workers is rising. In response to this rising demand, numerous states, cities, and other localities have already enacted or will change minimum wage levels. In the few states with no established minimum wage, the current federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour will continue to apply.
Based on local legislation, many states have already enacted minimum wage increases or approved increases due for implementation at a future date.
These ever-changing laws, effective dates, and methodologies result in minimum wages that may change at different times or differ dramatically within a state or region. Minimum wage changes can be triggered for a location when these pre-determined conditions change and require careful monitoring to ensure compliance to the latest wage levels.
Salary.com continuously tracks all these complex changes. We can help to keep you informed about future changes and stay up to date on the latest minimum wage levels in your essential locations. Show me more data to view U.S. state minimum wages for future years.

Browse Minimum Wage by Year, and Forecast Minimum Wage Increase Trends in Texas

The minimum wages in some states are higher than the federal minimum wage in 2022, including District of Columbia, California, Washington, Massachusetts, and others. Many of the minimum wage increases were effective on January 01, 2018. Some states have effective dates occurring at different months of the year. Check the chart to stay up to date on the hourly minimum wage in Texas.
View upcoming minimum wage changes to be on top of future changes to the minimum wage in your location.

Hourly Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees in Texas

The tipped minimum wage is the lowest amount employers can pay an employee in occupations such as a bartender or server, that regularly receive more than $30 a month in tips. In some states, the tipped minimum wage may be lower than the non-tipped minimum wage because employers can claim a tip credit.
It is important to note that the tipped minimum wage can vary depending on where your business is and the size of the business. In some states, the tipped minimum wage is equal to the overall minimum wage for that state. In some locations, the federal tipped minimum wage applies. In other locations, the state-tipped minimum wage is set above the federal minimum. Tipped minimum wages may vary from state to state and can be frequently adjusted, making it essential to stay informed about the latest wage levels.
In Texas, the tipped minimum wage is the same as the state minimum wage. It may be subject to adjustment based on other criteria, such as the size of the business.
See tipped data learn more about tipped and non-tipped minimum wage in Texas.

Texas minimum wage in 2021: US$7.25

Texas minimum wage in 2020: US$7.25

Texas minimum wage in 2000: US$3.35 ($5.16 after inflation adjustment)

Texas minimum wage in 1980: US$1.40 ($4.69 after inflation adjustment)

People's Opinions on Minimum Wage in Texas

Standard exemptions to the Texas Minimum Wage include domestic employees, farm and ranch workers, prison inmates, full time students, and certain seasonal recreation establishments.

09/22/2021

The report shows that residents working minimum wage jobs in Texas would have to work 100 hours a week to afford a modest one-bedroom apartment and 121 hours a week to afford a two-bedroom rental.

09/21/2021

In addition to any Texas-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers.

09/20/2021

All Texas employees working over 40 hours in a work week are entitled an overtime wage of at least 1.5 times their regular hourly pay rate - therefore, the overtime minimum wage in TX is.

09/06/2021

From the National Low Income Housing Coalition, there is not a single county in Texas where a minimum wage worker can work 40 hours a week and comfortably afford a decent rental home.

07/25/2021

Under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, special minimum wage rates are applicable to certain types of workers, which is in addition to any other minimum wage exceptions made by Texas Labor Laws.

07/21/2021

Any employee aggrieved by a violation of the Texas minimum wage law may bring a civil action against the employer within two years of the date in which the unpaid wages were due and payable.

07/18/2021

Two additional increases in the federal minimum wage followed, resulting in higher percentages and numbers of hourly paid Texas workers earning the federal minimum wage or less.

07/12/2021

An employer that is not liable for payment of contributions to Texas’s unemployment compensation fund is exempt from the minimum wage law, except with respect to employment of a person in agriculture.

07/09/2021

Employers are exempt from Texas’s minimum wage law with respect to employment in amusement or recreational establishments that do not operate for more than seven months in a calendar year.

07/05/2021

Are you an HR manager or compensation specialist?

Salary.com's CompAnalyst platform offers:

  • Detailed skills and competency reports for specific positions
  • Job and employee pricing reports
  • Compensation data tools, salary structures, surveys and benchmarks.
Learn about CompAnalyst