North Carolina minimum wage in 2021: US$7.25
North Carolina minimum wage in 2020: US$7.25
North Carolina minimum wage in 2000: US$5.15 ($7.93 after inflation adjustment)
North Carolina minimum wage in 1980: US$2.75 ($9.21 after inflation adjustment)
Employers may apply to the North Carolina Wage and Hour Bureau for a disabled worker certificate to set a sub-minimum wage rate for a particular disabled worker to perform a particular job.
The EPI found that low-wage workers in North Carolina who are not receiving minimum wage are losing almost one-third of the wages they are due.
Neither the federal nor North Carolina minimum wage amendments addressed the status of employees who receive tips in addition to a minimum cash wage from the employer.
Under North Carolina law, employers are not required to pay employees more than what is required by the minimum wage and overtime provisions.
If you are an employee with a proven minimum wage or overtime claim in North Carolina, you may be eligible for all of your unpaid wages.
In addition to any North Carolina-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers.
The minimum wage in North Carolina will remain at the federal level for the foreseeable future due to a lack of bipartisan legislative support for a statewide minimum wage increase.
A lack of progress on the state minimum wage is particularly troublesome given the lack of wage growth that has occurred for North Carolina workers at the low end of the pay scale.
Employers may deduct from wages (and count against the minimum wage) the reasonable cost of board, lodging, or other facilities under North Carolina law.
Unlike in other states, where urban progressive enclaves have raised their minimum wage, activists in North Carolina are legally barred from doing so.
Salary.com's CompAnalyst platform offers: