Nevada minimum wage rate is $10.50 per hour in 2022. Workers receive a higher minimum wage in Nevada that exceeds the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. The Nevada minimum wage applies to most employees, with limited exceptions, including certain tipped employees, students or part-time workers, and other exempt occupations. The top 5 minimum wage states in the U.S. are District of Columbia, California, Washington, Massachusetts, and Connecticut.
The federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour and has not increased since 2009. Demand for a living wage that is fair to workers is rising. In response to this rising demand, numerous states, cities, and other localities have already enacted or will change minimum wage levels. In the few states with no established minimum wage, the current federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour will continue to apply.
Based on local legislation, many states have already enacted minimum wage increases or approved increases due for implementation at a future date.
These ever-changing laws, effective dates, and methodologies result in minimum wages that may change at different times or differ dramatically within a state or region. Minimum wage changes can be triggered for a location when these pre-determined conditions change and require careful monitoring to ensure compliance to the latest wage levels.
Salary.com continuously tracks all these complex changes. We can help to keep you informed about future changes and stay up to date on the latest minimum wage levels in your essential locations. Show me more data to view U.S. state minimum wages for future years.

Browse Minimum Wage by Year, and Forecast Minimum Wage Increase Trends in Nevada

The minimum wages in some states are higher than the federal minimum wage in 2022, including District of Columbia, California, Washington, Massachusetts, and others. Many of the minimum wage increases were effective on July 01, 2022. Some states have effective dates occurring at different months of the year. Check the chart to stay up to date on the hourly minimum wage in Nevada.
View upcoming minimum wage changes to be on top of future changes to the minimum wage in your location.

Hourly Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees in Nevada

The tipped minimum wage is the lowest amount employers can pay an employee in occupations such as a bartender or server, that regularly receive more than $30 a month in tips. In some states, the tipped minimum wage may be lower than the non-tipped minimum wage because employers can claim a tip credit.
It is important to note that the tipped minimum wage can vary depending on where your business is and the size of the business. In some states, the tipped minimum wage is equal to the overall minimum wage for that state. In some locations, the federal tipped minimum wage applies. In other locations, the state-tipped minimum wage is set above the federal minimum. Tipped minimum wages may vary from state to state and can be frequently adjusted, making it essential to stay informed about the latest wage levels.
In Nevada, the tipped minimum wage is the same as the state minimum wage. It may be subject to adjustment based on other criteria, such as the size of the business.
See tipped data learn more about tipped and non-tipped minimum wage in Nevada.

Nevada minimum wage in 2021: US$9.75 (without medical benefits) / US$8.75 (with health benefits) (effective July 1, 2021)

Nevada minimum wage in 2020: US$9 (without medical benefits) / US$8 (with health benefits)

Nevada minimum wage in 2000: US$5.15 ($7.93 after inflation adjustment)

Nevada minimum wage in 1980: US$2.75 ($9.21 after inflation adjustment)

People's Opinions on Minimum Wage in Nevada

Under Nevada wage laws, employers are mandated to pay overtime wages of one and one-half times the minimum wage for hours that are accrued beyond 8 hours within a 24 hour day.

09/25/2021

With this specific provision, it appears that the Nevada legislature has attempted to circumvent those criticisms by expressly allowing the legislature to increase Nevada’s minimum wage.

09/20/2021

Unlike AB 456, this proposed constitutional amendment would abolish the existing two-tiered minimum wage system in Nevada, at least as a matter of constitutional law.

09/15/2021

All Nevada employees working over 40 hours in a work week are entitled an overtime wage of at least 1.5 times their regular hourly pay rate - therefore, the overtime minimum wage in NV is.

09/12/2021

While all hourly California employees are entitled to daily overtime, only those hourly employees who are paid less than 1½ times the minimum wage are entitled to daily overtime in Nevada.

08/27/2021

Commissions can be highly important as many individuals who are working in primarily commission-based sales positions are not subject to minimum wage or overtime wage laws in Nevada.

08/18/2021

While Nevada and federal labor laws have minimum wage and overtime provisions, many factors can contribute to determining whether your employer owes you additional compensation for overtime hours.

08/15/2021

Nevada also has a daily overtime requirement, affecting employees who work more than eight hours in a 24-hour period and who earn less than one-and-a-half times the state minimum wage rate.

08/15/2021

Nearly 300,000 Nevadans will see higher pay under the new minimum wage law, according to an study conducted by the Washington, D.C.-based think tank Economic Policy Institute.

07/13/2021

In addition to any Nevada-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers.

07/11/2021

Are you an HR manager or compensation specialist?

Salary.com's CompAnalyst platform offers:

  • Detailed skills and competency reports for specific positions
  • Job and employee pricing reports
  • Compensation data tools, salary structures, surveys and benchmarks.
Learn about CompAnalyst