Mississippi minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour in 2022. Workers receive a lower minimum wage in Mississippi that exceeds the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. The Mississippi minimum wage applies to most employees, with limited exceptions, including certain tipped employees, students or part-time workers, and other exempt occupations. The top 5 minimum wage states in the U.S. are District of Columbia, California, Washington, Massachusetts, and Connecticut.
The federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour and has not increased since 2009. Demand for a living wage that is fair to workers is rising. In response to this rising demand, numerous states, cities, and other localities have already enacted or will change minimum wage levels. In the few states with no established minimum wage, the current federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour will continue to apply.
Based on local legislation, many states have already enacted minimum wage increases or approved increases due for implementation at a future date.
These ever-changing laws, effective dates, and methodologies result in minimum wages that may change at different times or differ dramatically within a state or region. Minimum wage changes can be triggered for a location when these pre-determined conditions change and require careful monitoring to ensure compliance to the latest wage levels.
Salary.com continuously tracks all these complex changes. We can help to keep you informed about future changes and stay up to date on the latest minimum wage levels in your essential locations. Show me more data to view U.S. state minimum wages for future years.

Browse Minimum Wage by Year, and Forecast Minimum Wage Increase Trends in Mississippi

The minimum wages in some states are higher than the federal minimum wage in 2022, including District of Columbia, California, Washington, Massachusetts, and others. Many of the minimum wage increases were effective on January 01, 2018. Some states have effective dates occurring at different months of the year. Check the chart to stay up to date on the hourly minimum wage in Mississippi.
View upcoming minimum wage changes to be on top of future changes to the minimum wage in your location.

Hourly Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees in Mississippi

The tipped minimum wage is the lowest amount employers can pay an employee in occupations such as a bartender or server, that regularly receive more than $30 a month in tips. In some states, the tipped minimum wage may be lower than the non-tipped minimum wage because employers can claim a tip credit.
It is important to note that the tipped minimum wage can vary depending on where your business is and the size of the business. In some states, the tipped minimum wage is equal to the overall minimum wage for that state. In some locations, the federal tipped minimum wage applies. In other locations, the state-tipped minimum wage is set above the federal minimum. Tipped minimum wages may vary from state to state and can be frequently adjusted, making it essential to stay informed about the latest wage levels.
In Mississippi, the tipped minimum wage is the same as the state minimum wage. It may be subject to adjustment based on other criteria, such as the size of the business.
See tipped data learn more about tipped and non-tipped minimum wage in Mississippi.

Mississippi minimum wage in 2021: no state minimum level, Federal minimum wage US$7.25

Mississippi minimum wage in 2020: no state minimum level

Mississippi minimum wage in 2000: no state minimum level

Mississippi minimum wage in 1980: no state minimum level

People's Opinions on Minimum Wage in Mississippi

Thus, low-income Mississippians must earn significantly more than the minimum wage in order to fill the gap between their earnings and the cost of living.

09/25/2021

Oxfam also found that states represented in the Senate by two Republicans, such as Mississippi, have a higher percentage of constituents who would directly benefit from a minimum wage hike.

09/24/2021

Although employers in Mississippi don’t need to currently worry about either local or statewide sick leave and minimum wage laws, these businesses still have to also comply with.

09/16/2021

As always, to make sure your business is prepared and stays in compliance, we recommend that you discuss these upcoming changes to minimum wage laws in Mississippi with your accountant and lawyer.

09/16/2021

If an employee believes they have not been provided within overtime pay or fair wages in general, they can claim backed minimum wages in Mississippi by filing a wage claim.

09/04/2021

In addition to any Mississippi-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers.

09/02/2021

Mississippi does not have state labor laws that differ from the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) for issues like minimum wage and overtime pay.

08/25/2021

A brief summary of federal wage and hour laws, such as restrictions on hours worked, minimum wage, and overtime, in the absence of state wage and hour laws in Mississippi.

08/14/2021

Because Mississippi has no minimum wage law, Mississippi employees are subject to the federal rules on tip credits and minimum wages for employees who receive tips.

08/14/2021

Mississippi, as in some other states, does not have its own wage and hour laws and therefore is subject to federal minimum wage, overtime, break period, and other related laws.

08/10/2021

Are you an HR manager or compensation specialist?

Salary.com's CompAnalyst platform offers:

  • Detailed skills and competency reports for specific positions
  • Job and employee pricing reports
  • Compensation data tools, salary structures, surveys and benchmarks.
Learn about CompAnalyst