Kansas minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour in 2022. Workers receive a lower minimum wage in Kansas that exceeds the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. The Kansas minimum wage applies to most employees, with limited exceptions, including certain tipped employees, students or part-time workers, and other exempt occupations. The top 5 minimum wage states in the U.S. are District of Columbia, California, Washington, Massachusetts, and Connecticut.
The federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour and has not increased since 2009. Demand for a living wage that is fair to workers is rising. In response to this rising demand, numerous states, cities, and other localities have already enacted or will change minimum wage levels. In the few states with no established minimum wage, the current federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour will continue to apply.
Based on local legislation, many states have already enacted minimum wage increases or approved increases due for implementation at a future date.
These ever-changing laws, effective dates, and methodologies result in minimum wages that may change at different times or differ dramatically within a state or region. Minimum wage changes can be triggered for a location when these pre-determined conditions change and require careful monitoring to ensure compliance to the latest wage levels.
Salary.com continuously tracks all these complex changes. We can help to keep you informed about future changes and stay up to date on the latest minimum wage levels in your essential locations. Show me more data to view U.S. state minimum wages for future years.

Browse Minimum Wage by Year, and Forecast Minimum Wage Increase Trends in Kansas

The minimum wages in some states are higher than the federal minimum wage in 2022, including District of Columbia, California, Washington, Massachusetts, and others. Many of the minimum wage increases were effective on January 01, 2018. Some states have effective dates occurring at different months of the year. Check the chart to stay up to date on the hourly minimum wage in Kansas.
View upcoming minimum wage changes to be on top of future changes to the minimum wage in your location.

Hourly Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees in Kansas

The tipped minimum wage is the lowest amount employers can pay an employee in occupations such as a bartender or server, that regularly receive more than $30 a month in tips. In some states, the tipped minimum wage may be lower than the non-tipped minimum wage because employers can claim a tip credit.
It is important to note that the tipped minimum wage can vary depending on where your business is and the size of the business. In some states, the tipped minimum wage is equal to the overall minimum wage for that state. In some locations, the federal tipped minimum wage applies. In other locations, the state-tipped minimum wage is set above the federal minimum. Tipped minimum wages may vary from state to state and can be frequently adjusted, making it essential to stay informed about the latest wage levels.
In Kansas, the tipped minimum wage is the same as the state minimum wage. It may be subject to adjustment based on other criteria, such as the size of the business.
See tipped data learn more about tipped and non-tipped minimum wage in Kansas.

Kansas minimum wage in 2021: US$7.25 (effective July 1, 2009)

Kansas minimum wage in 2020: US$7.25

Kansas minimum wage in 2000: US$2.65 ($4.08 after inflation adjustment)

Kansas minimum wage in 1980: US$1.60 ($5.36 after inflation adjustment)

People's Opinions on Minimum Wage in Kansas

The minimum wage in Kansas could more than double in the next two years if a new bill passes in the legislature and receives the governor's signature.


Ward says he'd be happy to negotiate with any of his colleagues, but ultimately believes the bill to raise Kansas' minimum wage will pass.


In addition to any Kansas-specific minimum wage exemptions described above, the Federal Fair Labor Standards act defines special minimum wage rates applicable to certain types of workers.


For complete information about minimum wage requirements and exemptions, employers should contact the Kansas Department of Labor.


The decision to increase the minimum wage for health system employees in the Kansas City Division was based on a comprehensive review of salary data, cost of living expense and other factors.


In Kansas, employers are prohibited from refusing to pay their employees below minimum wage, as well as from withholding earned wages.


Ward is vocal about the issue on social media He says right now, 29 states have a higher minimum wage than Kansas, including Missouri, Nebraska and Colorado.


Democrats have long fought for an increase in the state minimum wage, but had been stymied by the Kansas Chamber and Republicans, who control the Legislature.


Cities, counties and local governments in Kansas aren’t permitted to pass laws requiring a minimum wage rate that’s higher than the state rate.


However, that’s not possible in Kansas because Kansas has a law that makes it illegal for any city to pay a higher minimum wage than the state has set.


Are you an HR manager or compensation specialist?

Salary.com's CompAnalyst platform offers:

  • Detailed skills and competency reports for specific positions
  • Job and employee pricing reports
  • Compensation data tools, salary structures, surveys and benchmarks.
Learn about CompAnalyst